I CAN!

I was recently talking with a very dear friend, Sue, about life and well, basically I was complaining, a LOT, saying a lot of things like “I can’t do this” and “I can’t do that.” She looked at me and said that Christian’s can NOT say the words “I can’t”. After my face registered what I imagine was a very dumb-founded look, she went on to say that Christian’s can’t say “I can’t” because Philippians 4:13 says that “I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.”

Let me tell you what! I have a laundry list or 2 of “I can’t”. I can’t work from home again, I’ll go nuts. I can’t keep working where I am. I can’t be the mom, the wife, the “whatever”, I can’t, I can’t. This was such an amazing moment for me. To sit there and realize that I CAN!!! I CAN do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

Sue went on to explain that, in reality, I am really saying “I won’t”. I am setting my will up against what God is calling me to do. I can’t even begin to explain how sacred the human will is to God but it is REALLY important. He will not do anything against yours, or my, will. God is so amazing and gracious. He will sit back until in our will we allow Him to do what He has been asking us to allow Him to do. He could just force us but instead He just….waits, gently (well not always too gently) applying pressure and waiting for us to come to the realization that maybe we should do it the way He is calling us to approach the issue.

I was unworthy but Christ died to make me worthy. It’s a done deal. Now I just need to live like it IS a done deal. Satan wants us to believe that we aren’t worthy, that we can’t, because a defeated Christian is no longer a threat.

The song “Light Up the Sky” by the afters caught my attention today with this one line: “Your love carries me so I’m letting go” Letting go of what? Today I’m letting go of my list of “I can’ts” and replacing it with “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

In Him,

Hope

Want to see the rest of the song? Here is the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8LQH6UDi15s

Leave a Reply

